I'm looking at buying a 1.4X Mark I teleconverter (I already have a Tamron one that doesn't register) and was just wondering if anyone knows if the Canon Mark I makes itself known in the metadata


2 Answers 2


I have a Canon 7D mk II, 70-200mm F2.8 II, and the 2x Extender III and when I import the images into Lightroom 5, I noticed that Lightroom Library mode does allow me to filter for using the lens with the extender. I get "EF70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM +2x III" for the metadata and filtering options but when I go to Development mode, the Lens Corrections will only correct for the 70-200mm without the option of the 2x Extender. Now I know your asking about the 1.4x Extender with the 100-400mm but I suspect with the Canon lens and Canon Extender, the metadata in Lightroom will show the similar information as the 70-200 with 2x Extender.


The problem may not be with your existing teleconverter. It is most likely the way that Adobe products ignore most of the "maker notes" section of the EXIF information. The additional information about the TC and the resulting difference in focal length and aperture is almost certainly contained in the "maker notes" section rather than in the other standardized fields of the EXIF info.

Have you tried viewing the EXIF info via Canon's Digital Photo Professional to see if it properly shows up there?

  • I just spent 15 minutes trying to figure out DPP (note you need a cr2 not a dng duh me) and then checked with a test image no change in focal length or note that the teleconverter existed Mar 19, 2016 at 1:12
  • If you are converting to DNG the adobe convertor is stripping out all of the "maker notes" from the EXIF info.
    – Michael C
    Mar 19, 2016 at 2:51
  • It won't show the non-Canon TC listed with the lens used, but should show the accurate focal length: i.e when shooting at 200mm and max aperture w/ my 70-200mm f/2.8 lens + 2X Kenko TC (That is an exact copy of a Tamron 2X available at the same time) it shows the focal length and aperture as 400mm f/5.6.
    – Michael C
    Mar 19, 2016 at 2:53
  • Of course there are several different Tamron/Kenko/whatever other name gets put on them varieties that have been sold over the years. They've usually offered two tiers at any point in time. The lower tier only has 4 or 5 elements in 4 groups, the upper tier has 7 elements in 4 groups.
    – Michael C
    Mar 19, 2016 at 3:02

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge that you have read and understand our privacy policy and code of conduct.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.