4

For portrait retouching, I usually do basic calibration, color correction et c. in Lightroom. Then I proceed to Photoshop (right-clickedit in Photoshop) to do skin retouching and styling. Then I save the image (as TIFF with layers by default), at which point it gets automatically imported into Lightroom, where I do the final stylisation. However, if I go back to Photoshop to retouch the image any further at this point, once I overwrite the TIFF with Photoshop, Lightroom resets all the development settings for the TIFF (not for the original RAW file though). I can get my settings back by selecting the last entry in the development history or using snapshots I created earlier, but it's still a bit annoying. Why does Lightroom reset the development settings when I save over the image in Photoshop, and how can I circumvent it (I think it doesn't happen when I use PSDs instead of TIFFs, but that's only a workaround)

  • Is it saving a new copy of the Tiff, or over the top of the original? – Crazy Dino Feb 7 '17 at 17:19
  • @CrazyDino It's saving over the TIFF created when I first edited it it Photoshop. After all, I don't want to create a seperate version every time I go back to Photoshop to change a tiny detail – MoritzLost Feb 7 '17 at 17:22
  • I'm wondering if that's the reason (and because of it being a TIFF rather than a PSD) – Crazy Dino Feb 7 '17 at 17:25
  • @CrazyDino Well I'm saving over the file, but the development settings are stored in the Lightroom database, they shouldn't be affected by it ... Photoshop also doesn't create xmp sidecars for the tiffs. Maybe the tiffs have embedded settings for Adobe Camera Raw, but that still seems curious – MoritzLost Feb 7 '17 at 17:29
  • 1
    Yeah I might do that, but I don't think it's a bug. Rather a sideeffect of the intended functions and interaction between the two programs that I don't understand – MoritzLost Feb 7 '17 at 22:55
0

I think it's a LR bug (feature) in a recent LR or PS release. I work like this too (and with TIF files) - it's only recently I've noticed this behaviour (I've been using LR since v1 (and PS CS3) and while it has occasionally happened before it appears to occur more often, but not always, with the latest CC LR/PS).

Invalidating the develop settings would appear to be correct if the image dimensions have been modified (and I've definitely seen this behaviour), but otherwise it has worked as you expect for ... forever (until recently).

0

When you select Edit in->Photoshop is there a dialog asking you what version to edit? I get a dialog asking whether to edit the original, a copy, or a copy with adjustments.

This Adobe help page has info:

https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom/help/editing-photoshop-or-photoshop-elements.html

If you want your new Lightroom adjustments preserved, try selecting that option.

  • It does, as I mentioned in the comments, but that's not really a solution. I want to edit the TIFF within Photoshop, but still retain my Lightroom adjustments. After all, the development setting of Lightroom aren't included in the TIFF, so there's no reason they should be reset once I save over the image in Photoshop – MoritzLost Feb 9 '17 at 0:00
  • You can't. The underlying file has changed and so the changes to it have no reference. The only way to do it is duplicate the file and then sync the edits to the new file. – Lumigraphics Feb 9 '17 at 2:48

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.