3

Whenever I turn on my Olympus TG-4 I get a strange message which pops up for a few seconds and then disappears. I am baffled by what this message is trying to tell me and also is a little bit distracting as it obscures the view when I am try to take a picture. I've trying to looking through the manual and also online, but could not find any reference to this.

Can anyone tell me what this is and/or how to disable it?

enter image description here

  • 1
    The hands depict tech support, the manufacturer web site, and the vendor you bought the camera from all pointing to the others as who is supposed to handle your problem. – Olin Lathrop Feb 1 '17 at 13:02
  • If I contacted all those people first, I wouldn't be able to enjoy your sarcastic comment. – oneself Feb 2 '17 at 1:53
5

Alright, I think I figured it out. This is specific to Snow mode which allows for gloved operation of the camera. From the manual:

  1. Tap the right or left side of the camera body once. • The picture mode selection screen is displayed.
  2. Tap the right or left side of the camera body to select a function.
  3. Tap the back of the camera body twice to confirm your selection.

Take a picture: Tap the back of the camera twice (Only for the [Snow] mode).

  • 1
    There is a similar interface on Olympus cameras with underwater operation modes. – mattdm Jan 31 '17 at 20:48

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.