1

I imported images into Lightroom CC on my MacBook Air. I now have a 20GB folder under library.lrlibrary/ called d3cb...many more letters.../. I'd like to recover the space on the laptop. Lightroom says that I'm fully synced. Can I safely delete the d3cb... folder? Should I do it, somehow, inside of Lightroom or just delete it with the OS?

2
  • I'd double-check Adobe's meaning of 'sync'… because sync is not backup. I don't use Adobe's online services at all, but such as Apple's iCloud & DropBox sync means if you delete an item from one machine, it will 'helpfully' delete it from all your others.
    – Tetsujin
    Jun 16 at 5:38
  • Hi Larry! If you search the web for "lightroom delete synced photos locally" (or some other variation) there are plenty of (outdated?) methods to be found on-line. Have you looked into any of them? If so, could you please edit your question to include what you've found so far? This would prevent someone from suggesting something that you've looked into already but found unhelpful. Also, can you specify which version of Lightroom you're using (Classic or CC)? Jun 16 at 16:10
1

The safest route seems to be to adjust Lightroom's "Local Storage" down to a minimal size. After syncing and a restart, the file is purged down to the size you specify.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.