Serene Life

by garik

submit your photo


Hall of Fame
View past winners from this year

Please participate in Meta
and help us grow.

Tag Info

New answers tagged

-1

No, nothing will happen until you try to save the image with lower resolution or lower quality.


5

JPEG compression can be described as having two distinct phases: first a lossy phase, then a lossless phase. Understanding the difference between them is important to this question. This isn't so much because it helps understanding what's going on, but because it helps to understand where the common mistakes come from. Lossy compression happens only when ...


1

Simply put: Opening: no loss of quality Copying: no loss of quality Displaying: no loss of quality Saving without edits: is copying, no loss of quality* Saving with only metadata edits: no loss of quality* Saving with changes to compression quality: loss of quality Saving after image data edits: loss of quality *Dependant on program, poorly implemented ...


0

There seems to be a lot of misinformation even in these answers. JPEG is a lossy block encoding standard. Its a frequency domain code that gets its compression by representing higher frequency image components with lower precision. The block size is 8x8 pixels. To encode a JPEG image you take each block, perform a 2-D DCT and record the result in a sort of ...


4

You definitely won't lose any quality just by viewing it. But, as pointed out above, you may lose image quality when saving it without making changes if the editor compresses it when it saves the file. For example, say you have a JPEG at no compression: You open it in The GIMP, make no changes, and save it The GIMP asks you how much compression you want ...


1

Definitely, like any file, if you don't hit "save" but just close the file, no changes will be made. (think of it like a word Doc that you just open and close) If you do make changes, most programs will give you a notification asking if you want to "save changes" So the answer is definitely no to your question. Hope that helps.


27

This is based on a misunderstanding. Loss of quality happens only during the compression that is done when an image is saved as JPEG. But it doesn't matter whether it was edited or not. So: you will lose quality if you open an image in an image editor and re-save it, even if you didn't make any edits. But if you only open it to display it and then close it ...


15

Absolutely not. You need to edit the file and re-save it as a JPEG in order to compound the effects of image compression. Just viewing it has no effect at all — if it did, all of the JPEGs on the web would "wear out" completely in a day or two at most.


0

As it was said, lossless is not an option here. To minimize losses throughout the workflow you can use ArgyllCMS. It is a free opensource pre-press quality library for colour conversion and other colour-related things, like profiling. It has a utility cctiff which handles colour space conversions for TIFF and JPEG files. Argyll comes with its own sRGB.icm ...


0

It appears that the image uses CMYK (as opposed to RGB) color model. Besides ensuring that your image is converted to sRGB and tagged as sRGB, you also need to convert it to RGB. If you save the results as PNG instead of JPG, you won't induce any further compression-based image loss.


0

In-camera JPEG could be theoretically better than RAW, in cases where RAW file does not transfer truly raw data from sensor - manufacturers do it to reduce file size ("compressed RAW"). Some cameras, like Sony, only use compressed RAW and this can result in unexpected artifacts in images processed from RAW files, see for example ...


2

An important detail that hasn't been mentioned thus far is how file deletion is (usually) done on SSDs. It is different than the traditional, spinning-disk, hard disk drives (HDDs). As mentioned in AJ's answer, traditionally when you "delete" a file the operating system (Windows 8 in this case) simply tells the hard drive that the file is no longer needed ...


0

If you recovered to the same drive that you originally deleted them on, you probably corrupted them yourself. The reason you can undelete a file is that the drive is simply marked as the space being available, no other data is actually changed. Thus, if you read where the file had been, the data is still there. The problem with recovery is that when you ...



Top 50 recent answers are included