Incense

by Bart Arondson

submit your photo


Hall of Fame
View past winners from this year

Please participate in Meta
and help us grow.

Take the 2-minute tour ×
Photography Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for professional, enthusiast and amateur photographers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm getting my D40 prepped to be sold, and I want to set the camera back to the original factory settings. When I do the "two button" reset (holding the "I" and "info" buttons down for two seconds), the camera restarts, but does not reset my settings. When I choose the menu option to do so (Menu->Custom Settings->Reset), this also does not reset my settings.

In either case, the camera still has my image comment; still has my optimization settings within the shooting menu, etc.

Is there a more aggressive "factory" reset that can be performed?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 4 down vote accepted

According to the manual for D40 the two-button reset does not affect custom settings (p38).

The Custom Settings Menu has another Reset option to clear them (p74).

pp113-114 describe default settings and what gets reset with various reset controls.

There is also a tiny low-level reset switch next to the USB port (p108) -- to be used when the camera completely stalls (freezes).

share|improve this answer
    
There isn't a true "Factory Reset" available, but the resets described in the manual get you almost all the way there. If someone has set something and can't remember what was done, and is now taking strange photos, the resets you described should do the trick. I ended up deleting the image comment information by hand. –  Eric B Jan 30 '11 at 18:32

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.