Road Train !!!!!!!!!!

by Russell McMahon

submit your photo


Hall of Fame
View past winners from this year

Please participate in Meta
and help us grow.

Take the 2-minute tour ×
Photography Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for professional, enthusiast and amateur photographers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Just got a Lumix DMC-S5 and I am happy with the camera.

I have some software that I use for a couple of other Sony cameras which automatically downloads all photos and deletes them from the card. The new Lumix shows up as a removable disk in the same way as my other Sonys so I had hoped to use the same process for downloading.

However, I get an error that the media is write protected (I get the same even in Windows Explorer). I have checked that the card isn't protected and I'm able to delete photos (and format the card) from the camera. Is this the way all Lumix cameras operate??

I can work around this by manually deleting all images on the camera after each download. I'd rather avoid this extra step though.

Any ideas?

Thanks, Alan

share|improve this question
3  
I don't know the answer to this specific question, but there actually are good reasons to delete them all at once, preferably by using the format feature of your camera itself, not the computer. For example, this will avoid filesystem fragmentation, which will make file recovery easier in the case of problem. –  mattdm Jul 27 '13 at 19:39

1 Answer 1

I had the Lumix DMC-L1K but I think this applies to all digital cameras.

Check your camera preferences for "USB mode". It should be set to USB Mass Storage. Other modes (e.g. "Auto") may allow you read access to the flash card but not write access. Write access is needed to delete files.

The mythical issues with fragmentation don't exist. File fragmentation effects read and write time, not space, and occurs mostly when many reads and writes are made while nearly full.

share|improve this answer
1  
In my experience with recent Lumix cameras (FT20 and SZ3), they don't let you delete photos from my computer. Either in Pictbridge (PTP) or PC (USB mass storage) mode, both appear as read only in Windows. You have to delete the photos on the camera. Or take the card out, and put it in a USB card reader. –  vclaw Aug 13 '13 at 12:42
    
Thanks, I'd resigned myself to it not being possible. It isn't too much hassle to delete the photos from the camera, as long as I remember to do it! –  Alan Spark Aug 13 '13 at 18:15

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.