Open

by damned truths

submit your photo


Hall of Fame
View past winners from this year

Please participate in Meta
and help us grow.

Take the 2-minute tour ×
Photography Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for professional, enthusiast and amateur photographers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

One of the reasons I moved from iPhoto to Aperture was the ease with which I could view multiple images side-by-side at any zoom level for comparing shots. In the "Viewer" mode, as opposed to many-image "Browser", it's a simple matter of cmd-clicking or shift-clicking new pictures to present them on screen. This is fantastic, even if it leads me down the dark path to pixel-peeping, and I use it frequently.

However, what I don't know is how to keep actions from then applying to all photos in the multiple view. For a very common example, if I'm looking at three images and choose one to keep, two to discard, I don't know how to do that without recording which three images I was looking at, getting out of the multiple view, navigating to each one to score it individually.

It doesn't seem like this should be necessary. There's a concept of "current selected image" even when multiple are on the screen. But why do ratings apply to all? Worse yet, if I say "reset adjustments", how can I get the adjustments reset only on one image and not all?

share|improve this question
1  
I think the "primary only" button is what you are looking for; see, e.g., dpnotes.com/apple-aperture-3 and photo.rwboyer.com/2010/03/25/… for more information. –  Jukka Suomela May 23 '12 at 22:42
    
@Jukka, that's it - thank you! I was looking at that just the other day, but I didn't notice that toggling it changed how images were outlined on screen. Perfect! I'm afraid I can't select a comment as the correct answer, but if you answer-ize this, I'll do it. =) –  khedron May 24 '12 at 19:12

1 Answer 1

As Jukka mentions in a comment, you can use the "Primary only" button:

Primary Only

This button is located just below the bottom-right of the main viewer window.

This ensures that any amendments are only done to the image you have selected (with a grey border). I've tested this and it works fine for me in Aperture 3.

share|improve this answer
    
Yes! I was trying to figure out what that was for the same day I posted this question. –  khedron May 24 '12 at 19:11

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.