Open

by damned truths

submit your photo


Hall of Fame
View past winners from this year

Please participate in Meta
and help us grow.

Take the 2-minute tour ×
Photography Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for professional, enthusiast and amateur photographers. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm here at the Imagine Cup World Finals again taking pictures, and I'm using Adobe Lightroom, and I took a large number of pictures today which are garbage. I'd like a quick way of going through those images and throwing out the absolute garbage (blurry, underexposed, overexposed, etc). However, every time I hit the delete key, Lightroom keeps complaining "Do you want to delete these or merely remove them from the catalog?" -- I want to just nuke them from the collection but there doesn't seem to be an obvious way to tell it to always pick one option or another.

Is that possible?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 10 down vote accepted

I don't believe you can disable it, but a really easy workflow in regards to this is:

  • The photos you would delete, mark as 'Rejected' with the 'X' shortcut key.

  • After you're all done, go to the grid view in Library, click the 'Rejected' flag to filter by rejected and delete them all in one go.

share|improve this answer
    
That works. :) Thanks! –  Billy ONeal Jul 9 '11 at 3:16
2  
Even faster: Press Cmd+Backspace (probably Ctrl+Delete on Win) to automatically delete all rejected pictures ;) –  eWolf Jul 9 '11 at 15:12
    
@eWolf I've always liked having the option in bulk and ctrl+backspace may be a slight second faster, but for a huge group of pictures in one go, I'd rather it ask me. –  rfusca Jul 9 '11 at 15:26
    
In LR3, after rejecting your photos you don't have to change views. Just go to the menu Photo -> Delete Rejected Photos (it's the last option). –  NoMoreNegatives Jul 9 '11 at 22:06
1  
Another refinement is to filter your grid view to show only flagged and unflagged (but not rejected) photos. Now when you hit X to reject a photo it'll disappear from view. When you're done, hit Ctrl/Cmd + Backspace: LR will now automatically switch the filter to only show rejected photos and prompt you to delete them. After you've done so, you're returned to your previous filter view: flagged & unflagged only. Perfect! –  Mark Whitaker Jul 10 '11 at 8:08

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.