Time to be with your loved ones

Time to be with loved ones

by sat

submit your photo


Hall of Fame
View past winners from this year

Please participate in Meta
and help us grow.

Help Center > Privileges > view close votes

view close votes

Privilege type: Moderation privilege

Awarded at: 250 reputation

This privilege allows you to view and cast close and reopen votes on your own questions.

What is closing?

Closing is a democratic voting process where the community defines what is generally on-topic and generally off-topic for this site.

What is a closed question?

Closed questions do not allow new answers and can be identified by the "(closed)" title suffix.

It takes 5 close votes from members of the community with the close vote privilege to close a question. The reason for question closure is always explained at the bottom.

When should I close my own question?

Questions that are sufficiently off-topic, as outlined in the FAQ, should be closed by casting close votes. Common reasons for question closure are:

  • You asked a question that was asked before
  • You asked a question that is off-topic

How do I view close votes and reasons?

Click on the "close" link under any of your questions, under the question text and to the left side. You will see a list of close reasons, each with a count of the number of votes cast with that reason.

close vote link with pending close votes, and dialog

You may also cast a close or reopen vote on your questions. With the close/reopen vote privilege, you'll be able to see (and cast) close and reopen votes on all questions.

What happens to closed questions?

Some off-topic questions may be migrated to a different site right after closing (we keep the question page with a link to the new location).

Other closed questions may be reopened through a similar voting process. They can also eventually be merged with another question or even deleted.